Ode to Sin

You had my heart in a choke hold

I was young but you had me feeling old

You closed my eyes and turned out the lights

you had me doing wrong, thinking I was living right

you held me hostage with a ransom I couldn’t pay

when I saw truth I looked the other way

You kept me up at night worrying about tomorrow

you brought me 20% joy and 80% of sorrow

you had me under your spell

you promised you’d catch me when I fell

but you dragged me to the ground

you left me while I drowned

I yelled but made no sound

I was lost but now I’m found.

Ode to sin.

Leave a Reply

